The First Cabinet

Mzee Jomo Kenyatta's first cabinet

Mzee Jomo Kenyatta’s first cabinet

Jomo Kenyatta formed governments in 1963-1966 (3 years), 1966-1969 (3 years), 1969-1974 (5 Years) and (1974-1978).

To read bios of each cabinet member visit:

The first cabinet constituted of:

Prime Minister
Jomo Kenyatta

Home Affairs
Jaramogi Oginga Odinga

Justice and Constitutional Affairs
Thomas J. Mboya

Finance and Economic Planning
James S. Gichuru

Minister of State in the Prime Minister’s Office
Joseph A. Murumbi

Minister of State for Pan African Affairs
Mbiyu Koinange

Health and Housing
Dr. Njoroge Mungai

Joseph D. Otiende

Bruce McKenzie

Local Government
Samuel O. Ayodo

Commerce and Industry
Julius G. Kiano

Works, Communication and Power
Dawson Mwanyumba

Labour and Social Services
Eluid Mwendwa

Natural Resources
Laurence Sagini

Information, Broadcasting and Tourism
Ramogi Ochieng Oneko

Lands and Settlement
Jackson H. Angaine



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s